Monday, February 15, 2010

Valentines Day!

Yesterday morning Travis made me breakfast in bed & we decided to relax all day & watched a movie with Kaedyn. We got Kaedyn two books for her Valentine gift, I figured it would get more use than a stuffed animal. She got a Valentine Elmo book & Green Eggs and Ham book!

We had plans to go to Carrabba's as a little family! Kaedyn slept during the whole dinner (which was amazing!)
Then we went back home & gave Kaedyn a much needed bath! I took a bath first & brought Kaedyn in with me, it was so much easier washing her in the tub with me. Plus she loved when I glided her along the water like she was swiming. She is such a little fish, she loves being in the water! Then Travis's parents came over to watch her while we went to the movies to see Valentines Day, a little mini date without Kaedyn. She was so excited to see us when we got home that she didn't fall asleep until 1 am so I got some good shots of her before bed!




Saturday, February 13, 2010

Deep Fried Happiness

Mom, Travis & I went to the FL state fair while my dad watched Kaedyn. It was so cold out Iam glad I didn't bring her, maybe next year. We watched Kaitlin's cheer competition & to feast upon all the fair has to offer. I couldn't believe I saw deep fried butter..wow it made me confirm why other countries call Americans fat! The day tired me out from walking around, but it was good exercise.


Kaedyn was wearing one of her new jammies & had a good day napping with my dad!

Friday, February 12, 2010

Big girl now!

Today I tired on 0-3 & 3 month jammies since Kaedyn is too tall for newborns & they look more comfortable then the newborns. They are a tad to big but she can move around great! Its sad shes getting bigger, I remember when she was first born how tiny & fragile she was, now Monday she will be 8 weeks old & she seems so much bigger! She still fits into newborn onesies & outfits but the pj's with footies were too small.
Right before bed last night :)



This is what I wake up to when TJ's at work! :) slumber party for me!! haha


Big girl jammies & 2 month old binky!

So Kaedyn & I went shopping since she only has 4 jammies that are 0-3. I didn't realize how hard it is to enjoy shopping with an infant. She is getting bigger & making the carrier heavier! I hope by being a mom it makes my arms more defined! haha! I only took her to two stores & let my dad watch her while I finished my shopping for Valentines day too. He loves to watch her & she always smiles & poops when he holds her! I love seeing my parents with Kaedyn, they are really going to enjoy her when she can walk & do more things!

Thursday, February 11, 2010

family = love

Tonight the Mahla gang came over, aunt Colleen & Margie were in town & haven't seen Kaedyn yet, so what a good reason to have a get together! J.P., Kathy, Tyler, Kaitlin, Kimberly, mom, dad, Timmy, MaryBeth, Colleen, Margie, Maureen, Breena & little Gary all came over! We had pizza, spaghetti, ceasar salad, of course cupcakes & a cake my mom made. lol No special occasion just to see family, it was nice to have Kaedyn so alert & looking around.
Gary is a little firecracker! He is so cute he ran around the house & tried to drink the reed diffuser oil (poor kid). I think I need to baby proof my house soon! Timmy, Tyler & Travis (hey all T's! :]) were playing with Gary's toy trucks more than he was! I hope this year we can have a family Christmas now that there is two little kids, more toys for uncle Timmy to put together & for us to play with :]

yummy dessert's! :)

Kaedyn punching Tyler! :]

Aunt Kathy, Kaitlin & Kaedyn

Aunt Colleen & Margie

My family spoils her so much! We apperciate it very much too!
J.P & Kathy bought Kaedyn some clothes & we love the "i love my auntie" onesie!! :]

Timmy & Marybeth brought her two cute outfits that is one for mommy love & the other is daddy love!

& Maureen brought her mommy & daddy outfits! (it was the theme i wonder if they all planned it? lol)


We had a great night! I love spending time with my family & I am glad Travis & Kaedyn are apart of the Mahla family too!!

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Sleep?

I can't believe it, Kaedyn slept through the night last night!
We went to be at 11 ish & when I woke up at 5 to get ready for work, she was sleeping! I had to stop & think if I woke up last night or not, & sure enough we didn't. I don't want to jump the gun but I hope this starts a pattern!!
She is so alert & happy from 9-11, right before bed, I feel bad that I don't play with her more but I gotta sleep sometime!
We'll see how tonight goes. Kaedyn is smiling so much now, she is ticklish & coo's like she is talking up a storm!

Friday, February 5, 2010

All dressed up

Today was the only day in a while where it wasn't freezing, which means Kaedyn finally gets to wear a cute dress! She has known nothing but flanel jammies her whole 7 weeks of life, time to introduce cute dresses! it didn't last long though, we changed her for our trip to Babies r us & just as I put her in her car seat I noticed a smell. I checked her pants and sure enough, poop over flowed out of the sides all on her cute dress! lol it was a mess, but good thing she had another dress to change into! :)



At Babies r us we got Kaedyn a play mat, she needed more toys! I researched a few before going out and decided on the Fisher Price Rainforest mat. It is sooo cute!

We also got a cute blue & yellow outfit, a SUPER cute top & shoes for her at 3 months.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

SMILE!

I finally got Kaedyn smiling on film (kinda lol) she was so out going, cooing and smiling so much it was hard to put her to bed! I gave her a bath first, then she decided to have fun instead of sleeping, she was so active!



so cute! she LOVES her baths!
Kaedyn is becoming more and more aware, its amazing how much she is growing!







THERE IT IS!!! <3 she is so beautiful!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

The best day of my life

Okay so I decided to make a blog about my little girl Kaedyn. Shes a month old so I probably should have started this then but a newborn can make you busy. So I am going to keep you up to speed from December 21 till now.
**this could be graphic ;) **

Sunday December 20, 2009
Travis & I were in Publix stocking up for the weeks groceries and at check out I felt almost like a gush of water, like I broke my water! I went in the restroom to check & I definitely lost a lot of the mucus plug or "bloody show". We went to my parents house for dinner that night (every Sunday tradition) and I noticed little spots of water, no pee or discharge but water. Didn't think anything of it because I didn't want to get my hopes up. Later that night before bed the amount was getting more & more.

Monday December 21, 2009

Around 4:30 am I woke up and noticed there was a lot of fluid leaking, woke Travis up & asked if we should go to the hospital. Travis usually isn't alert until 15 minutes AFTER you wake him up so of course he said "Just wait till your appointment at 9:30" Okay so I couldn't sleep because I was really anxious & in a strange mood to bake cookies. So while being up till about 7 am (when I finally fell asleep) I was having small contractions about 10-7 minutes apart but they tapered off. When I woke up around 8:00 to get ready for the Dr's appointment the contractions didn't start back up again & no fluid was leaking. I took a picture real quick of my belly, just in case it was the last time I'd see it again!
At Dr. Dieffenbach's office I told him about what was going on in the past few hours, he did two tests to see if it was my water. Sure enough the little stick turned blue & he seemed a little pissed that I didn't go to the hospital at 4:30. I was about 2 cm. dilated. So off we went to Spring Hill regional to have this baby. Good thing we packed our bags in the car already!
When we got there around 10:00 am, we waited a while & some quite girl showed us to our room #2. I met our nurse (who seemed nice now) She asked me a million questions about if I've ever taken drugs and checked to see where I was at, she said I wasn't even at 1 cm yet, yet the Dr. said I was 2 cm...maybe she has smaller fingers? lol. I was informed that Dr. D doesn't let his patients eat or drink anything till they give birth! I was thank full I ate a lemon poppy seed muffin before I left, but not to drink water!? I was more worried about that than the damn birth! I got blood drawn, fetal monitors placed (which never stayed on right) and an IV with pitocin and antibiotics since i had a sinus infection at the time. Then we waited, contractions really didn't start for an hour. They started out mild, & I really though to myself "if this is all it is then I will be fine!" HA, little did I realize this wasn't even the beginning.
Contractions started to progress, getting stronger & lasting longer. I was to the point around 12:00 where I couldn't listen to any one's voice, it had to be completely silent, which meant kicking out everyone in the room who wanted to chat. I asked the nurse when do they check me & she said "whenever you are in pain & want an epidural" Well if you know me I wanted to do it all natural, pain meds were dentally NOT on my list (since it effects little Kaedyn) & I wanted to see how long I could last before throwing in the towel for an epidural. As the contractions got worse I asked for a birthing ball (the only thing dr. d lets his pts use) & it seemed to work for a while, let gravity do its job, but it got to the point where nothing helped. So my nurse was assigned to the room in front of us, the lady was giving birth so I was assigned some red head. I really thought she was a flipping CNA, I had her check me around 4-5 o'clock & she was like "whoa your 6 cm!" OKAY I said, I want the epidural now, I couldn't take the pain. It was like a bowling ball was being forced out of my vajayjay! She informed me that there is only ONE anest. (cant spell) on staff & he was in a C-section & I had to wait. At this point telling me to wait was not an option. I believe I cursed at her "why isn't there any other dr's in this f***ing hospital?!" (only the beginning of my cursing) she said because it was after 5:00 pm....NICE!
So finally the nurse anesthetist (not dr) came in, made me sign some form I didn't even read, I knew it was if they screwed up I couldn't sue them kinda thing. Well I was at 9 cm. & asking me to sit still for a few minutes was not possible, the contractions were coming like rapid fire. From what he said I moved while he was sticking the needle in my spine & went past the epidural space & into my spinal fluid. I freaked out that I was going to be paralyzed. He assured me I wasn't & I would just have a "bad headache for 3-4 days" Hell a head ache sounded like a walk in the park from where I was at! He only gave me ½ the epidural since he screwed up just to be safe, so I didn't get a happy button.
It only took about an hour or so and I had the urge to push. I pushed until she was crowning. The nurse called the Dr. but he was late! I had to stop pushing and just breath through the contractions until he arrived. Finally the Dr. came, it only took like three pushes and out came Kaedyn Grace at 8:01 pm. When they put her on my belly it was amazing, that we created this life! I was so happy that my dad decided to come in for the birth, he was invited but nervous about the blood, etc. but I think he put it aside to see his first grandchild be born! They cleaned her up, weighted her at 6 lbs 10.7 oz, 19 ½ inches long and head at 13 inches.
Once we were ready my family and friends came in. J.P, Kathy and my cousions were there, Jordan and Jamie too. Every one took pictures, I finally got to eat a cowboy burger from Applebees my mom went and got me! (it tasted like heaven. lol) Lindsey came to see Kaedyn and Scott stopped by to have a cigar with Travis, my dad and his dad. Once everyone left around 10:00 pm we realized that this was going to be the first night of the rest of our lives of no sleep! We tried to brestfeed but I was having trouble, so we decided to enjoy the night sleep and have the nursery take care of her over night. I couldn't sleep, I was so happy I called the nurse in around 1:00 am so I could hold her. We noticed she was a little sweaty on her forhead.









Tuesday December 22
The next morning they brought me breakfast and Kaedyn. They told me her white blood cell count was high so they had to admit her to the NICU. I was worried but Dr. Dieffenbach said that because I had a cold that she might need to be watched in the NICU. Dr. Dieffenbach stopped by to check on me. He gave us a sliver spoon for Kaedyn and said I would get discharged Wednesday morning. Jamie came in around 9-10:00 am to see Kaedyn again but when we walked to the NICU they told us they need to get her set up and would call me when I could come to see her. They moved me into a room upstairs in the main hospital. It was like going from the Ritz to the Oaks Motel! It was tiny and the hallway was loud and felt dirty, BUT the nurses were a million times nicer! The nurse on Tuesday night helped me pump and pretty much helped me all night.




Wednesday December 23
In the morning Dr. Dieffenbach stopped in, checked me and said I was free to leave whenever I wanted. My mom came to help us pack all our crap up and Travis and I went to see Kaedyn before we left. They wouldn't allow anyone but mother and father in because of the H1N1 virus, which sucked. The drive home was so emotional because I was in so much pain from my shoulders (from pushing the nurse didn't tell me to support my neck) and the headache started PLUS on top of that I was leaving without my baby. Everyone sees the family leave together from the hospital all happy, but I never got that. When I came home I just broke down in tears, I just wanted my baby home with me. We visited her that night around 10:00 pm with some breast milk. She seemed fine, I wasn't really sure why she was in there with all the premies and sick babies.




Thursday December 24
Travis called the Dr who was taking care of Kaedyn and demanded her to come home if her blood work came back good, which we found out on Christmas did! It was unnecessary for her to be in there, she was healthy and happy, they just wanted to drain my insurance for money since it was a holiday weekend. I was so upset that I was robbed of my family seeing Kaedyn for her first days! The Dr. and Travis got into it, but in the end Kaedyn was able to go home! She didn't show any signs of sickness at all. (Kaedyn's due date)




Friday December 25

We were so happy to take our baby girl home on Christmas morning! I was in so much pain but it was amazing to walk out of the hospital with her! We went to my parents house for Christmas dinner & gifts.



(Kaedyn's first night at home)
Powered by Blogger.